Let Dogs Be Dogs

fall, tree, animal, dog, golden, retriever, leaves, autumn, walking, sidewalk, gold, brown, green, square, abstract, heat effect, iphone 5s, frank j casella, america, midwest, illinois,
Photo: ‘Happy Fall Dog Walk – Heat EffectA golden retriever goes for a neighborhood walk down a sidewalk through colorful Fall leaves in Midwest America. Copyright 2018 Frank J Casella. Note: The motion in this image is intentional. The abstract and heat effects are added for presentation

While on a recent dog walk I noticed down the sidewalk two people approaching me with their dogs. Once they spotted me they seemed to have stopped and where standing there talking with each other .. waiting.

I said to myself, “I wonder if they are waiting to see if I will be crossing the street” … “well, my dog is trained so I’m not gong anywhere”. And sure enough, as soon as I got ‘two driveways’ away from them they went and crossed the street.

Once they got across the street, they waved at me in a friendly like manner. I wanted to say to them, ‘nice way to socialize your dogs’.

This is a common thing today, and I don’t know why or what is causing it. It seems instead of dog owners making the time to lead their dogs and train them to be social with other dogs, they just simply cross the street. This is not very good for the dog. But us humans take the path of least resistance when we can.

For example when dogs sniff trees, and pee on them, it not only helps to relieve themselves, but they also communicate with, and learn about, each other by the odors in their pee .. yes, you can call it p-mail.

All of my dogs have been rescue dogs, and one even came with a form of aggression. The dog behaviorist who worked with us showed us how taking the lead with your dog on walks helps him with how well he behaves at home. It took about nine months, but we helped that dog to become a dog again.

Author: Frank J Casella

I'm Frank J Casella, American, freelance photographer and independent artist. I'm also co-founder of a Catholic Men's Apostolate. My life mission is to share hope and God's love in the world.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started