Networking

people, doctor, medicine, fair, neighborhood,
I chiropractor talks with a patron at a neighborhood festival in Midwest America. Photo: Complimentary Medicine Copyright 2014 Frank J. Casella

Networking plays a crucial role in life as it generates a significant and positive impact. I utilize Fine Art America as my primary platform for networking, where engaging with a modest yet viable audience allows me to establish trust and a reputable presence. Unlike many artists who directly post pictures accompanied by sales pitches or calls to action on social media, I prefer to share blog posts or provide detailed descriptions of the subjects I photograph. Essentially, I harness the power of social media when I witness tangible results, rather than relying on it as a mere tactic to yield success.

During my tenure as the executive director of a local Chamber of Commerce, I encouraged that members who actively contributed to the organization’s mission and volunteered for committees were the ones who reaped the greatest business benefits. Instead of solely promoting their own interests, these individuals invested in building relationships and wholeheartedly engaged with their fellow community members. However, after my departure, many members ceased their participation or chose not to renew their membership. While my influence was not the sole factor, a significant portion of this decline could be attributed to a change in the Chamber Board’s approach, resulting in a diminished perception of the previously emphasized benefits.

When it comes to networking, whether in the virtual realm or offline, the most effective strategy is to selflessly give and invest in the interests of others, rather than fixating on personal gains. By nurturing genuine connections, people will truly get to know you and your talents, leading them to speak highly of you and the value you offer. Although this process may require a considerable amount of time, it surpasses the futile efforts of individuals who spend years navigating social media or attending various social functions without making any meaningful impact on their relationships or sales.

Contrasting this approach, the “big fish” dedicate their time and effort to each individual they encounter, making a positive difference in their lives and actively contributing to problem-solving.

Author: Frank J Casella

I'm Frank J Casella, American, freelance photographer and independent artist. I'm also co-founder of a Catholic Men's Apostolate. My life mission is to share hope and God's love in the world.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started